American Society of Mechanical Engineers Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Branch

Spring Meeting following the 2022 SPIE Smart Structures/NDE Conference, Long Beach, CA 11:00 am - 12:30 pm (EST), Wednesday, March 23, 2022

Format: Remote

Organized by ASMS Branch Officers:

Chair: Lingyu "Lucy" Yu co-Chair: Rich Beblo Treasurer: Bjoern Kiefer Secretary: Onur Bilgen

Remote (Zoom) Meeting Information Provided by Email to Members and Friends

MEETING MINUTES

Attending Members:

Julianna Abel, Barbar Akle, Andres Arrieta, Jayasimha Atulasimha, Richard Beblo, Onur Bilgen, Diann Brei, Joseph Calogero, Manuel Collet, Christopher Cooley, Francesco Danzi, John Domann, Austin Downey, Eugenio Dragoni, Marco Fontana, Mary Frecker, Eric Freeman, Kazuko Fuchi, James Gibert, Ryan L. Harne, Jovanova Jovana, Amin Karami, Bjoern Kiefer, Caterina Lamuta, Soobum Lee, Suyi Li, Wei-Hsin Liao, Jonathan Luntz, Russell Mailen, , Sriram Malladi, Oliver Myers, Hani Naguib, Joseph Najem, William Oates, Morvan Ouisse, Kara Peters, Michael Philen, Johannes Riemenschneider, Nathan Salowitz, Yi-Chung Shu, Ralph Smith, Henry Sodano, Wei-Che Tai, Tyler Tallman, Chung Ket Thein, Shahrzad Towfighian, Travis Turner, Zhengbao Yang, Lingyu (Lucy) Yu, Wael Zaki, Lei Zuo, Sumit Gupta, Zhengbao Yang, Brittany Newell, Fotis Kopsaftopoulos

Attending Visitors:

Amir Ameli, Francis Phillips

- 1. Introductions and Acknowledgment of visitors (Chair) 11:06 am
- 2. Attendance by Shared Roster (Secretary) 11:10 am
- 3. Review and acceptance of SMASIS 2021 meeting minutes (Chair) Votes collected by Poll 11:15 am
 - 3.1. Poll Question: Do you accept the minutes from the ASMS 2021 September meeting posted on the ASMS Branch website? Members only.
 - 3.2. Accept: 59
 - 3.3. Reject: 0
 - 3.4. Abstain: 6
 - 3.5. Result: Minutes are accepted.
- 4. Update on Branch-to-Division Transition (Diann) 11:20 am
- 5. Report on ASME SMASIS Conference (Conference Organizers: Amin, James, Sherry) 11:39 am

6. Honorific Subcommittees (by Awards Officers)

- 6.1. ASME Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Prize (Ralph Smith) 11:44 am
- 6.2. ASMS Best Paper Awards (Co-Chair: Rich Beblo) 11:46 am (Solicitation will be out and the winners to be announced at SMASIS 2022)
 - 6.2.1. Structures and Structural Dynamics
 - 6.2.2. Materials and Material Systems
- 6.3. Ephraim Garcia Best Paper Award (Co-Chair: Rich Beblo) 11:50 am
- 6.4. Gary Anderson Award (Co-Chair: Rich Beblo) 11:51 am
- 6.5. ASME Fellow Nominations and New Fellows (Marcelo Dapino Presented Later at 12:45pm due to scheduling conflict)
- 6.6. SPIE Fellow Nominations and New Fellows (Norm Wereley Not Attending)

7. Special Discussion and Vote on TC Awards (Re. Monetary Part of the TC Awards, 2022 and 2023) (Diann Brei and Lucy Yu) – 11:52 am

- 7.1. Motion: We will temporarily pause the monetary portion of the ASME ASMS TC Awards for the 2023 and 2024 award periods. Member only.
- 7.2. Called by: Diann Brei
- 7.3. Second by: Lucy Yu
- 7.4. Agree: 54
- 7.5. Disagree: 3
- 7.6. Abstain: 7
- 7.7. Result: Motion agreed.

8. Nomination of new Branch members (Chair) - 12:08 pm

- 8.1. Motion: We agree to accept all nominees whose nominators have presented to become a member of the ASME ASMS Branch. Members Only.
- 8.2. Called by: Lucy Yu
- 8.3. Second by: Oliver Myers
- 8.4. Agree: 47
- 8.5. Disagree: 0
- 8.6. Abstain: 1
- 8.7. Result: 6 nominees, 2 missing nominators. 4 nominees inducted: Gupta, Sumit; Yang, Zhengbao; Newell, Brittany; Kopsaftopoulos, Fotis.

9. Status of Division's Technical Committees (Co-Chair) – 12:20 pm

- 9.1. Active Materials and/or Multifunctional Materials (Chair: John Gallagher and Co-Chair: John Domann)
- 9.2. Adaptive Systems Dynamics and Controls (Chair: Suyi Li and co-Chair: Sriram Malladi)
- 9.3. Structural Health Monitoring (Chair: Daewon Kim, and Co-Chair: Tyler Tallman)
- 9.4. Active Material Technology and Integrated Systems (Chair: Andres Arrieta and co-Chair: Srinivas Vasista)
- 9.5. Bio-inspired Structures and Systems (hair: Jovana Jovanova co-chair: Joseph Najem)
- 9.6. Energy Harvesting (Chair: Sherry Towfighian and co-Chair: Shima Shahab)

10. Report on Other Conferences – 12:52 pm

- 10.1. SPIE Smart Structures/NDE conference (Chair: Ana Muliana) (Presented by Lucy Yu on behalf of Conference Chair.)
- 10.2. Report on AIAA/ASME/AHS Adaptive Structures Conference (Darren Hartl) (Presented by Lucy Yu on behalf of Conference Chair.)
- 10.3. Report on International Conference on Adaptive Structures & Technology (ICAST) (Chair: Paolo Ermanni, Co-Chair: Andrea Bergamini) (Presented by Lucy Yu on behalf of Conference Chair.)

11. Adjourn and Reminders – 1:00 pm